ESTABLISHING THE DEPARTMENT THIRD YEAR REVIEW COMMITTEE FOR TENURED FACULTY (TYR)

(Excerpt from EKU Policy 4.6.17)

Each Department shall establish a TYR Committee for Tenured Faculty within the following guidelines:

- a) The Department shall elect no fewer than three members and one alternate, which shall be elected from the full-time tenured faculty of the college, excluding Department Chairs/Unit Heads.
- b) All members of the TYR are eligible to vote.
- c) No member of the TYR can also serve on the University Post-Tenure Review Committee.
- d) If a Department is too small to provide such a committee, the Department may select a full-time tenured faculty outside the Department with the advice of the College Dean.
- e) A member of the TYR shall not participate in the review of a case where there is a conflict of interest.
- f) The members of the TYR serve two-year staggered terms. A member cannot serve more than two consecutive terms.
- g) The TYR shall be elected no later than May 1 of the year prior to the year in which it is to function.