Annual Memorial Service Set for April 15; Location Moved to Walnut Hall

Eastern Kentucky University will honor the memory of  more than 50 members of the campus community – faculty, staff and students – at a memorial service on Wednesday, April 15.


The annual event, at 4 p.m. in Walnut Hall of the Keen Johnson Building, will recognize 20 faculty members, 10 students, 21 staff members and one "scholar resident" who have passed away since the previous such service in April 2014. (The location was changed because of a leak in the Meditation Chapel.)


Faculty honorees are: Mitch Lifland, Margaret Thurman, James Robert Miller, Amy King, Donald Haney, Robert Stebbins, Richard Lee Gentry, Joe Beck, William E. Sexton, Byno Rhodes, Robert Grise, Dorothy Higgins Smith, Michael Hesse, Jack A. Luy, Dale Monsebroten, Karen Hunter, Peter Creighton, Bruce Wolford, Branley Branson and Ben Lane.


Student honorees are: Charles T. Jewell, Jerry W. Adams, Jonathan Tyler Bunner-Moore, Seayana B. Smith, Dillon Walker, David N. Lee III, Amber Caudill, Chelsea Carroll Harnack, Jonathon Taylor Thomas and Sara Nestor.


Staff honorees are: James "John" Cosby Singer, David Allgier, Larry Moberly, Madison Lee Hodges, Carolyn Alford, Sondra Sue Bolton, Jo Ann Storie, Vashti Blythe, Harold Rose, Mary Dickerson Davis, Merritt Warren, Nancy Shanks, Geneva Cox Turpin Masters, Sudie Maye Adams, Willie Joe Clay, Wade Parks, Earnest Conner, Joe Hensley, Margaret Pitcher, James Wyatt "Spider" Thurman and Kimberly Merritt.

The service will also recognize local author Charles Bracelen Flood, who did much of his research in the University's John Grant Crabbe Library.


The Chamber Singers, EKU String Orchestra and Dr. Beth Kleppinger will provide musical selections, and EKU President Michael Benson will bring opening remarks.


‚ÄčA video recording of the service will be available. Anyone wanting a copy may contact Jenny McWilliams at 859-622-6671 or

Published on April 11, 2015

Quick Links