Athletics Hall of Fame to Induct Seven Individuals and 1940 Football Team

The Eastern Kentucky University Athletics Hall of Fame 2014 induction class features seven distinguished individuals as well as the 1940 undefeated football team. The class will be enshrined in the Keen Johnson Building on Saturday, Oct. 11.

The 2014 induction class includes: Bobby Collins (men’s basketball, 1984-88), Laphelia Doss (women’s basketball, 1994-98), James Hand (football, 1991-96), Bill Hughes (football, 1975-80), Jennifer James Reichard (volleyball (1988-91), Jamie King O’Shea (women’s cross country/track & field) and Glenn Presnell (football and golf coach/athletics director). The 1940 football team was the first team in program history to go undefeated (8-0).

Saturday’s activities begin with a noon luncheon. The group will also be recognized just prior to the Colonels’ football game against Eastern Illinois later that day at 6 p.m.

Tickets for the luncheon are $25 and can be purchased by calling the Colonel Club office, 859-622-2046. The deadline for registration is Tuesday, Sept. 30. Tickets will not be sold at the event.

For more information on the EKU Athletics Hall of Fame, contact Karl Park, Executive Director of the EKU Athletics Hall of Fame, 859-200-6686 or

Published on September 11, 2014

Quick Links