Center for the Arts Receives Vision Award from Bluegrass Tomorrow

photo of Center receiving award

The EKU Center for the Arts at Eastern Kentucky University has received the 2011 Vision Award for Innovation from Bluegrass Tomorrow.

The Center, which opened this fall and has welcomed large crowds to its first several concert events, was recognized as “an outstanding example of regional collaboration” that “has already advanced central Kentucky’s quality of life as it quickly became a cultural destination point.”

Dr. Bob Rogow, dean of EKU’s College of Business and Technology and chair of the EKU Center for the Arts Board of Directors, and Debra Hoskins, executive director of the center, were on hand to accept the award in Lexington on Friday, Oct. 28.

Rob Rumpke, executive director of Bluegrass Tomorrow, praised the Center for its “innovation and for enhancing cultural opportunities for the Bluegrass region and Kentucky.”

Bluegrass Tomorrow Chair Ron Tritschler of the Webb Companies joined Rumpke to present the award.

The 2,012-seat EKU Center for the Arts, the largest such venue in central Kentucky, will serve as the Debate Hall if EKU’s bid to host a 2012 Presidential Debate is accepted. A decision by the Commission on Presidential Debates is expected in November.

The funding strategy for the Center was unique because it joined state, county and University resources. A 13-member Board of Directors consisting of representatives of EKU, the City of Richmond, City of Berea and Madison County, was established to oversee design and construction.

Also, the Kentucky Riverkeeper based at EKU received Bluegrass Tomorrow’s Vision Award for a Green Region.

Bluegrass Tomorrow is central Kentucky’s regional planning organization, a diverse coalition of business, agricultural, development and preservation interests dedicated to promoting coordinated growth and preservation planning for the 14-county central Bluegrass region.

The organization seeks to unite the efforts of public, private and corporate citizens of Anderson, Bourbon, Boyle, Clark, Fayette, Garrard, Harrison, Jessamine, Madison, Mercer, Montgomery, Scott and Woodford counties – now one metropolitan area – to achieve regional solutions leading to a strong economy that respects the traditions of livable and distinct communities, surrounded by greenbelts of productive farmland and rich natural areas.

Published on October 28, 2011

Quick Links