Doctoral Student One of Six Nationally to Receive AASA Scholarship

Doris Crawford

An Eastern Kentucky University doctoral student is among six graduate students in educational administration nationally to receive a scholarship from the American Association of School Administrators (AASA).

Doris Lynette Crawford, director of secondary schools with Shelby County Public Schools and a student in EKU’s doctoral degree program in educational leadership and policy studies, received the Worth McClure Award, valued at $2,500, at the AASA National Conference on Education in Houston, Texas on Feb. 21.

For more information about the EKU doctoral program, now in its fifth year, visit

The AASA Educational Administration Scholarship was created in 1949 to provide incentives, recognition and financial assistance to outstanding graduate students in school administration who intend to make school superintendency a career. The Association selects recipients on the basis of their experience and excellence in school administration, personal essays about their qualifications, and recommendations from university faculty.

For more information about AASA, visit

Published on March 05, 2013

Quick Links