EKU Makes Grants Available to Communities throughout Service Region

CARES logo

Have a worthwhile community-based project that only needs funding?

Eastern Kentucky University is ready to help.

EKU’s Center for Appalachian Regional Engagement and Stewardship (CARES) invites communities throughout the University’s 22-county service region to submit proposals for one of five $10,000 CARES community grants. Activities within the following counties are eligible: Bell, Boyle, Casey, Clay, Estill, Garrard, Harlan, Jackson, Knox, Laurel, Lee, Leslie, Lincoln, McCreary, Madison, Owsley, Perry, Powell, Pulaski, Rockcastle, Wayne and Whitley.

Initiatives must include EKU partners and focus on one or more of the five following areas: economic and workforce development, education, environment, collaborative government, and health, wellness and safety. These might include, but are not limited to:

·         Strategic planning and management processes for communities.

·         Implementation of projects from a community-based strategic plan that cover one or more of the areas.

·         Training for citizen leaders, local officials, management and staff from non-profit community agencies, as well as boards or commissions.

·         Support for initiatives that enhance leadership, planning and management capacity for communities.

·         Use of professional services to assess a project’s feasibility, to offer consulting advice on a strategy, to support application development, etc.

·         Projects that emphasize broad community participation and involvement in the planning and implementation process.

CARES community grant funds may not be used to cover construction costs.

Special consideration will be given to projects that impact counties designated by the Appalachian Regional Commission as “distressed” or “in transition.”

The community grant programs will function on a reimbursement basis, and cost-share is required. Grantees must first spend their own funds, in line with an approved budget, and then submit documentation of expenses to the CARES office to receive reimbursement.

Proposals are due to the CARES office by March 1, and may be submitted via email or fax to Karrie Adkins, Project Director, CARES, karrie.adkins@eku.edu or 859-622-3543 (fax). Grant recipients will be announced in May 2014. The period of performance for the grants is July 2014-June 2015.

A reviewing committee will determine which projects will be chosen for funding. The highest scoring applications will present projects that are well planned, have defined goals, are long-lasting, result in significant benefits for the local community, include University partners, include a community education component, and are reasonable in cost.

For more information about application procedures, eligibility guidelines and requisite forms, visitregionalstewardship.eku.edu/insidelook/2014-community-grants-rfp.

The EKU Center for Appalachian Regional Engagement and Stewardship was established to provide a unified, comprehensive approach to stewardship and engagement that focuses on the five areas identified by the Kentucky Council on Postsecondary Education: economic and workforce development, education, environment, collaborative government, and health, wellness and safety.

CARES encompasses the Center for Appalachian Studies, the Environmental Sustainability and Stewardship Program, Service Learning, PRISM: A Journal of Regional Engagement, the Kentucky Institute for Public Governance and Civic Engagement, the Office of Regional Stewardship and the Regional Extension Agent Program. It is housed in EKU’s Office of University Programs and is headed by Ian Mooers, who also serves as director of the Center for Economic Development, Entrepreneurship and Technology, based at Eastern.

For more information about how CARES can assist with community needs, contact Mooers at 859-622-2334 or ian.mooers@eku.edu or Adkins at 859-622-6168 or karrie.adkins@eku.edu, or visit regionalstewardship.eku.edu/eku-cares.

Published on November 05, 2013

Quick Links