Engle Named 2013-15 Foundation Professor for Teaching Excellence

photo of Engle

Dr. Allen D. Engle has earned Eastern Kentucky University’s highest honor for teaching excellence.

Engle, a professor in the Department of Management, Marketing and International Business, has received the 2013-15 EKU Foundation Professorship. The annual honor recognizes those who demonstrate outstanding abilities in the three primary roles of a faculty member: teaching, service and research. The professorship provides a salary supplement for two years.

“Dr. Engle exemplifies the high standards for quality instruction and academic excellence that this award honors,” EKU President Doug Whitlock said.

Engle, who joined the EKU faculty in 1989, has received numerous awards for his teaching, including the EKU International Alumni Association’s Excellence in Teaching Award in 2004, the EKUBusiness Jack L. Dyer Excellence in Teaching Award in 2008, the 2009-10 Golden Apple Award from University Housing, and an EKU Critical Thinking Teacher of the Year award in 2013.

A prolific writer and presenter, Engle has taught extensively at universities throughout Europe in his specialty area of international human resources. Notably, he was selected to serve as a Visiting Professor of International Management for the European Executive MBA Program at the ESCP-EAP in Berlin, Germany from 2007 through 2013.

He has served as adviser to EKU’s student chapter of the Society for Human Resource Management for the past 12 years and has been recognized by the Bluegrass Compensation Association, of which he is a founding member, with a student scholarship that bears his name.

Engle’s family roots run deep at EKU, where he followed his grandfather, Dr. Fred A. Engle Sr., and father, Dr. Fred A. Engle Jr., as members of the faculty. He also earned bachelor’s and master’s degrees from EKU, before adding a doctoral degree in human resource management from the University of Kentucky.

All full-time tenured faculty members are eligible for the award. The selection is made by a committee composed of faculty, and the process provides for a high degree of peer review.

Fifty-four professors have been honored for teaching excellence by the EKU Foundation since the awards were first given in 1988.

Published on February 26, 2013

Quick Links