Graphic Communications Students Receive Multiple Awards in International Competition

An Eastern Kentucky University graphic communications student won a Best of Show Gutenberg Award at the 2013 International Graphic Arts Education Association (IGAEA) Conference in July and several other EKU students were recognized with first-, second- and third-place honors for individual and team submissions.

In the Web publishing category, Keith Hardiman of Richmond received Best of Show honors; first place went to Dylan Lakes of Cynthiana; second place, David Hall, Richmond; and third place, Amanda Winkler, Richmond.

A group project by Nichole Arbino, Loveland, Ohio; Alex Carson, Falmouth; Dylan Lakes, Cynthiana; Dawn Plunkett, Dry Ridge; and Catherine Thompson, Versailles, won an Excellence in Research award in the flexographic printing category.

LeeAnn Grant of Berea and Chelsy Polivchak of Richmond placed first in the screen printing category for work completed in specialty graphic imaging. In the screen printing textile category, Heather Moore, Burlington, earned a first-place award and Emily Sawyer, Monticello, placed third.

The team of Drew Slone, Lawenceburg; Cynthia Reynolds, Somerset; Dylan Lakes, Cynthiana; Erin Williams, Louisville; Alexa Klusman, Goshen; Jake Reaves, Dry Ridge; Tamara Perry, West Chester, Ohio; Michelle Oudeh, Nichloasville; Joe Segreti, Prospect; and Keith Hardiman, Richmond, took second place in the electronic publishing category group project.

The Gutenberg Award recognizes exceptional achievement in the field of graphic arts in three separate competitions: Print, Web Site, and Photography. Entries may be submitted by graphic communications students at any educational level, including those in university, college, community college, post-secondary technical school, high school vocational, high school technology education and junior high/middle school technology education programs.

Each of the entries was an assignment from courses taught by Dr. David W. Dailey and Dr. Marlow Marchant, Graphic Communications Management faculty in the Department of Applied Engineering and Technology, who choose their students’ best work for contest submission.

Published on September 10, 2013

Quick Links