Mock Trial Teams Qualify for National Tournament

EKU campus file photo

Two mock trial teams from Eastern Kentucky University qualified for national competition with their performance at a regional event at Kennesaw State University Feb. 24-25.

The EKU teams finished sixth and seventh, earning bids to the Opening Round Championship, to be held at Furman University in Greenville, S.C., March 23-25.

EKU’s sixth-place team took ballots from Georgia Tech and the University of South Carolina and split ballots with Emory University and Kennesaw.

Eastern’s seventh-place team lost ballots with Duke University but finished ahead of teams from Central Florida University, Georgia Tech, Spelman College and the University of Tennessee.

EKU’s Zac Caldwell, of Elizabethtown, and Corey Davis, from Louisville, received All-Region Witness Awards. Caldwell, a senior, recorded a perfect score.

Joining Davis on the sixth-place team were: Sarah Robinson, Richmond; Katherine Hall, Mt. Sterling; Marcus Segura, Fort Thomas; Damir Siahkoohi, Irvine; Bennett Parker, Fort Thomas; Rachel Hepburn, Waldorf, Md.; Haley Gearheart, Franklin, Va.; and Jade Petty, Stanton.

Joining Caldwell on the seventh-place team were: Alexandra Sipes, Mt. Sterling; Katelyn Conner, Erlanger; Chloe Richardson, Orient, Ohio; Caleb Taylor, Union; Anthony Sean Potter, Whitesburg; Josh Lang, Fort Thomas; and Ryan Black, Louisville.

The EKU coaches are Sara Zeigler, Tom Parker, Lawrence Hilton and Lynnette Noblitt. Financial support is provided by University Programs, the College of Justice & safety, the Department of Government, and Distinguished Alumnus Bob Sanders.

Published on February 27, 2012

Quick Links