President Whitlock to Receive Communicator of the Year Award from Local Chapter of PRSA

file photo of President Whitlock

Eastern Kentucky University President Doug Whitlock will receive the 2013 Communicator of the Year Award from the Thoroughbred Chapter of the Public Relations Society of America.

Whitlock, who served EKU as director of publications and director of public information early in his administrative career, will be honored at the chapter’s annual awards luncheon on Tuesday, April 9, at 11:30 a.m. at the Boone Faculty Club on the campus of the University of Kentucky.

The award is presented to a central Kentucky resident who is not a public relations professional but who has, in the opinion of the chapter, “done an excellent job in communicating his or her passion about issues that person has taken up to champion,” said Cliff Feltham, awards committee chair for the chapter and statewide media relations manager for Kentucky Utilities. “We feel … Dr. Whitlock does a very good job communicating with all audiences, internal and external.”

Whitlock was named EKU president in 2007 and has announced his intention to retire effective July 31 of this year after an administrative career that spans more than 40 years at Eastern. He earned two degrees from Eastern.          

Previous winners of the award include: UK Women’s Basketball Coach Matthew Mitchell, former Fayette County Schools Superintendent Stu Silberman, former Kentucky Auditor of Public Accounts Crit Luallen, Alltech Founder and President Pearce Lyons, and former University of Kentucky President Lee Todd.

Published on March 20, 2013

Quick Links