Senior Receives Major Award for Work As Leader for Orientation, Colonel Camp, New Student Days

photo of Spencer Barrett

An Eastern Kentucky University senior from Lancaster, competing against students from four-year colleges and universities in nine states, has received the Regional Student Leadership Award from the National Orientation Directors Association.

Spencer Barrett, a public relations major, has served EKU as an orientation leader, Colonel Camp leader and New Student Days leader since December 2009, assisting with the transition of incoming freshmen, transfer students and even family members to EKU. He received the Region VI award at a conference in Charlotte, N.C. March 9-11.

“Expectations are extremely high, and Spencer has always stood out with his enthusiasm, positive attitude, spirit and caring nature,” said Loni Crowe, coordinator of Orientation and Family Programs in the Office of First Year Programs at EKU. “He not only completed assigned tasks and responsibilities, but went above and beyond on all occasions and proved himself to be a true team player.”

Crowe said Barrett is especially adept at “finding those students who feel out of place and making them feel at home and comfortable. He leads by example, inspires others, always gives 110 percent, thinks creatively and genuinely cares about his peers and the new students. Spencer is one of the best student leaders I have ever met and I cannot think of a more deserving candidate for this award.”

Barrett recently learned that he was accepted for an internship with Disney World, beginning this August.

A 2008 graduate of Garrard County High School, Barrett is the son of Lori Norton and Darrell Barrett.

Two students may be selected for the NODA Student Leadership Award from each region annually – one from a four-year institution and one from a two-year school.

The mission of NODA is to provide education, leadership and professional development in the fields of college student orientation, transition and retention. Region VI comprises the states of Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Alabama, Georgia, Florida, Tennessee, North Carolina and South Carolina.

Published on March 16, 2012

Quick Links