Two Faculty Members Honored at Regional Conference

Two members of Eastern Kentucky University’s health promotion and administration faculty – Dr. Michael Ballard and Dr. Laurie Larkin – were honored at the joint American Alliance for Health, Physical Education, Recreation, and Dance (AAHPERD) Southern District/ Kentucky Association for Health, Physical Education, Recreation, and Dance (KAHPERD) conference in Lexington on Feb. 21.

Ballard, chair of the Department of Health Promotion and Administration and Interim Associate Dean of the College of Health Science, received the 2014 Honor Award from the Southern District – the second-highest recognition that can be bestowed upon a member by the group – and the W.H. Mustaine Award, which is the highest award bestowed by KAHPERD.

Larkin, assistant professor of public health, was named the KAHPERD 2014 College/University Health Education Teacher of the Year.

Ballard earned his bachelor’s degree in health education and master’s in secondary education from Eastern. At the University of Tennessee, he earned a doctorate in health education and a specialist in education degree in safety education and service.

During his career, Ballard has been extensively engaged in service to the health education profession. Service activities at the state level include serving as president of the Kentucky Association for School Health, president of the Kentucky Coalition for School Health, president of KAHPERD and vice president of the KAHPERD Health Division and the General Division. At the district level he has served as served as president of the Southern District of AAHPERD, vice president of the Health Division, and on numerous committees. At the national level he has served as a member of the AAHE Board of Directors, AAHE Board of Associate Editors, American Journal of Health Education, chair of the AAHE Ethics Committee, and member of the AAHE Awards Committee.

He is the past recipient of the KAHPERD Distinguished Service Award, Merit Award, and Health Educator of the Year Award; Southern District AAHPERD Taylor Dodson Award; and AAHE Professional Service to Health Education Award, and Health Education Professional of the Year/College and University Award.

A member of the EKU faculty since 2010, Larkin holds a bachelor’s degree from the University of Wisconsin-River Hills, a master’s degree from the University of Wisconsin-LaCrosse, and a doctoral degree from Purdue University.

AAHPERD was founded in 1885 to “promote and support creative and healthy lifestyles through high quality programs in health, physical education, recreation, dance and sport.” The organization is divided into six districts and has 25,000 members.

KAHPERD is a non-profit association representing professionals in health and safety education, physical education and sport, recreation and leisure, and dance. Its mission is to support the needs of professionals in these fields who work to improve the quality of life for Kentuckians. It is a member of AAHPERD, which provides a strong national voice for its membership, keeping its members and the public aware of legislative developments.

KAHPERD consists of elementary and secondary teachers, college/university educators, researchers, administrators, coaches, students, and recreation and dance personnel.

Published on March 07, 2014

Quick Links