Secondary Navigation

Alumni Awards


The College of Science Alumni Lecture Series was designed to honor alumni who have distinguished themselves and the college through their professional accomplishments. The series also provides a platform for the college’s graduates to motivate and inspire current students to strive for their highest potential. The speaker at the event is selected by a panel of the college’s department chairs from a pool of nominees provided by each department.

The Alumni Lecture Series speaker is also honored with the College of Science Award. The award is given to people who have made impactful contributions to the College of Science and is the highest award that may be given by the college.

2019: Erika Gil Winter (B.S., Forensic Science, 2007)
2019: Dr. Donald R. Whitaker (B.S., Mathematics, 1962)
2018: Julia K. Bohannon, Ph.D. (B.S., Biology, 2003)
2018: Nelson D. Horseman, Ph.D. (B.S., Biology, 1973; M.S., Biology, 1975)
2017: Gary Booth, Ph.D. (B.S., Chemistry, 1962)
2017: Tracie Prater, Ph.D. (B.S., Physics, 2006)


The Eastern Kentucky University International Alumni Association recognizes alumni, through different awards, for their outstanding service, professional achievements, and representation of EKU. Below are College of Science alumni that have been recognized by the EKU International Alumni Association since the college’s inception in 2016.

2021: Dr. Adam Lanzarotta, (B.S., Forensic Science, 2005), Professional Achievement Award
          Lisa Anderson, (B.S., Geography, 1987), Professional Achievement Award
2019: Tatiana Cody (B.S., Biology (Pre-Med), 2014), Young Alumni Award
2018: Julia K. Bohannon, Ph.D. (B.S., Biology, 2003), Professional Achievement Award
2018: Chad Terrell (B.S., Physics, 2009), Young Alumni Award
2017: Moriah Beck, Ph.D. (B.S., Chemistry, 1999), Distinguished Service Award
2017: Allison (Miller) Kilburn (B.S., Forensic Science, 2013), Young Alumni Award
2016: Fotina Lefta-Hoskins, DMD (B.S., Biology, 2009), Young Alumni Award