Select Page
Home 9 Scholarships


Students at Meadowbrook Farm looking at something a professor is holding

Agriculture students and professors at Meadowbrook Farm

To apply for scholarships in the Department of Agriculture, download and complete the scholarship application for undergraduate majors. Return your completed form to the Agriculture Department, 2 A.B. Carter Building, Richmond, KY 40475.

Application deadline is February 26th. Incomplete or late applications will not be considered.

  • Scholarship Application for Undergraduate Agriculture and Horticulture Majors (MS Word version)
  • Scholarship Application for Undergraduate Agriculture and Horticulture Majors (PDF version)

Agriculture Alumni Scholarship

Established in 1982 to provide scholarships for students of Agriculture and Horticulture. This scholarship is provided to first-year with a minimum of 12 earned credit hours, or sophomores with minimum EKU cumulative GPA of 2.6 in good academic standing majoring in Agriculture or Horticulture. Selection is based upon academic ability, extracurricular activities and financial need.

Dr. Dwight G. Barkley Endowed Scholarship

Available to incoming first-year students, returning students, or transfer students enrolled full-time at EKU. Must have a minimum ACT composite of 18 or equivalent SAT score. Awarded to a turfgrass management student based on financial need and academic ability.

Cecil B. Clark and Hazel Shackelford Clark Memorial Endowed Scholarship

This scholarship is awarded to incoming freshman from Montgomery, Bath, Fleming, or Clark county. Based on academic achievement, leadership, citizenship, diligence, and social responsibility.

Charles C. Combs and Betty C. Combs Memorial Endowed Scholarship

Established in l985 by Charles C. Combs, Jr., Clark C. Combs and Craig C. Combs to honor the memory of their late mother and father and to promote the education of deserving students who enroll full-time at EKU. A scholarship is awarded each year to an outstanding junior or senior student from Kentucky enrolled in the Department of Agriculture.

Farm Credit Services of Mid-America, ACA Agriculture Scholarship

Awarded to incoming student enrolled full-time, based upon academic achievement, related work experience, community service, and professional involvement. The recipient must plan to major in an academic area within the Department of Agriculture. Application process will consist of a written essay, two letter of recommendation, academic transcript, and completed application form.

James T. Greer Agriculture Scholarship

To be awarded to a student majoring in Agriculture based on financial need. Preference shall be given to a married student.

Jack and Jean Hamiliton Horticulture Scholarship

Awarded to a full-time student in good academic standing, having demonstrated financial need, declared major within horticulture area. Preference is given to a student who graduated from a Kentucky high school.

Glenn W. Hayes Endowed Agriculture Scholarship

Established in 1995 to promote education of deserving students enrolled full-time in the Department of Agriculture in honor of Dr. Glenn Hayes. The award is restricted to a junior or senior with an academic record conveying probability of success, excellent leadership, positive interpersonal relationship, and strong character.

Home Tobacco Warehouse Scholarship

Awarded to a deserving student from Madison County, Kentucky whose major course of study at EKU is Agriculture.

Bige Isaacs Memorial Scholarship

Established in 1993 by the Bluegrass Golf Course Superintendent’s Association to provide an annual scholarship to an EKU turfgrass student. The student must be a turfgrass major with a minimum of 2.5 GPA and evidence of financial need.

Michael Judge Scholarship

Established in 2012 in memory of Mr. Michael Judge, a devoted Farm Director and faculty member of the Agriculture Department for 20 years. The scholarship is awarded annually to a junior or senior Agriculture student with a minimum GPA of 3.0 and financial need. Preference will be given to a student native of Nicholas County, KY and / or students with a particular interest in Agriculture marketing. 

Mid-America Equipment Retailers Association Scholarship

This scholarship shall be awarded to a student majoring in the Department of Agriculture. Preference will be given to a student seeking employment at an equipment retailer. 

Department of Agriculture

521 Lancaster Avenue
A.B. Carter Building
Richmond, KY 40475
Phone: 859-622-2228
Fax: 859-622-6676

Connect with Agriculture @ EKU