University News

Ten Faculty Members Receive Critical Thinking Teacher of the Year Awards

Photo of Critical Thinking honorees

Ten Eastern Kentucky University faculty members were presented the University’s first Critical Thinking Teacher of the Year awards during a May 3 ceremony.

The awards program, developed by the Office of Quality Enhancement Programs, recognizes outstanding faculty members who have had an effect on developing their students’ critical and creative thinking skills.

Co-Op Program First in Kentucky to Earn Accreditation

Eastern Kentucky University’s Cooperative Education Program has become the first co-op program in the Commonwealth and only the 12th nationally to receive accreditation from the Accreditation Council for Cooperative Education.

The first-time accreditation, which followed a site visit, is for six years.

Ruppel Receives Second Fulbright, Headed to Slovakia

photo of Dr. Fred Ruppel

Dr. Fred Ruppel is returning to Slovakia.

Recently awarded a six-week grant under the Fulbright Specialists Program – his second Fulbright to work in that central European country – the Eastern Kentucky University economics professor will spend May 27-July 19 collaborating with one or two Slovakian co-authors on an economics textbook.