Select Page

Forty-two Eastern Kentucky University students were recognized for outstanding academic achievement and inducted into the EKU chapter of Phi Kappa Phi at the fall 2015 ceremony.

Inductees included seniors and graduate students at the top 10 percent of their class and juniors at the top 7.5 percent. The EKU Phi Kappa Phi 2015 fall inductees were:

Sarah Franklin, Christopher T. Campbell, Kailyn N. Eggett, Laura R. Whittaker, Amy C. Hughes, Blake D. Johnson, Richmond; Bethany A. Breakall, Jeanne Nakazawa, Berea; Luv’Tesha L. Robertson, Callie M. McMullin, Joshua L. Bailey, Jordan E. Mazurek, Lexington;     

Lyndsay B. Spalding, Bardstown; Corey M. Smith, Campbellsville; Craig B. Creech, London; Amelia M. Wilson, Middlesboro; Seth H. Nolan, Loyall; Dalton T. Stanley, Pikeville; Brittany A. Wills, Isom; Dustin Turner, Somerset;

Gabriella Caniglia, Cameron H. Kriz, Louisville; Chelsea R. Weckbach, Alexandria; Jason C. Banta, Pleasureville; Susan B. Darnell, Cynthiana; Kaytlin P. Siegmundt, California, Ky.; Ryan M. Taylor, Burlington; Lindsay E. Marshall, Frankfort; Haleigh E. Brown, Crittenden; Phillip J. Ferguson, Russellville;

David Coumes, Loganville, Georgia; Matthew L. Decker, Lafayette, New Jersey; Gabriel Flores, Phoenix, Arizona; Kyndle D. Hall, Baytown, Texas; Zachary A. Vann, Katy, Texas; Fredrick Lomasney, Port Huron, Michigan; Donna L. McEntee, Knoxville, Tennessee; Keary Moss, Cincinnati, Ohio; Jenelle R. Perich, Andreas, Pennsylvania; Bernard F. Spada, North Huntingdon, Pennsylvania; Andrew J. Rice, Mundelein, Illinois; Leonid Solonovich, Fort McMurray, Alberta, Canada. 

Several EKU sophomores also received outstanding academic achievement certificates for completing more than 30 hours with a grade point average of 3.7 and above.    

Eastern Kentucky University faculty and professional staff were also honored for scholar distinction though recognitions and inductions into the university’s Phi Kappa Phi chapter. Inductees and honorees included, the event’s keynote speaker Dr. Thomas Appleton, EKU Foundation professor of history; Dr. Rose Perrine, associate dean of University Programs; Isaac Powell, associate professor of art; and Krista Rhodus, director of library advancement.

Founded in 1897, Phi Kappa Phi is the nation's oldest and most selective collegiate honor society for all academic disciplines. Phi Kappa Phi inducts annually approximately 30,000 students, faculty, professional staff and alumni. The Society has chapters at more than 300 select colleges and universities in North America and the Philippines. Membership is by invitation only to the top 10 percent of seniors and graduate students and 7.5 percent of second-term juniors. Faculty, professional staff and alumni who have achieved scholarly distinction also qualify. The Society's mission is "to recognize and promote academic excellence in all fields of higher education and to engage the community of scholars in service to others." For more information about Phi Kappa Phi, visit