Select Page

A University-wide memorial service will be held Wednesday, April 13, to honor and celebrate the lives and contributions of members of the Eastern Kentucky University family – faculty, staff and students – who have died since April 2015.

The annual service, at 4 p.m. in Walnut Hall of the Keen Johnson Building, will include remarks from University officials as well as special music from pianist Chase Moore, EKU’s Chamber Singers and a string orchestra. Family, friends, all members of the campus community and public are invited to attend.

The event will honor students Billy Ryan Cain, Kaitlyn C. Franklin, Cody Blayze Garcia, Miranda Greer, Tyler Hughes, Joseph “Joey” Kraemer, Michael Brock Leonhart, Jacob Moore, Alyssa M. Moorman and Aaron Schmidt; staff members Brillion “Bill” Cain, James Calhoun, Alberta Davis, Jeff Dunn, Edith Carolyn Lainhart, Eldon Lainhart, Nancy Long, Rich Middleton, Shird Riley Powell, William “Frank” Rawlins, Jesse Samons, Donna Simmons, Wayne Steele and Ruby Anglin Willis; and  faculty members Jack Adams, Jerry Austin, Joseph Biesinger, Brenda Foley, Ken Haddix, Janet Hibbard, Fran Hindsman, Rosanne Lorden, Ethel Watts Blanton Smith, Jean Craig Surplus, Carol Jeanett Thomas and Virginia Wright.

In addition, the Division of Student Success will host an invitation-only luncheon for families of the recognized students.

A reception will be held after the service in the Keen Johnson Building.

For more information about the memorial service, contact Lisa Daniels at or 859-622-4373. Anyone wishing to add a name to the list should contact Lisa Kelley at or 859-622-2101.