Select Page

Fifty-two Eastern Kentucky University students were recently recognized for outstanding academic achievement and inducted into the University’s chapter of Phi Kappa Phi.

The inductees included seniors and graduate students at the top 10 percent of their class and juniors at the top 7.5 percent. The EKU Phi Kappa Phi Fall 2016 inductees were:

Aminah A. Alkhaibari, Reid E. Buskirk, Shawn A. Castle, Benjamin Dantic, Kourtney Easterling, Patrick Elzinga, Courtney Hayes, Deanna L. Johnson, Holly E. Kay, Molly King, Melody Li, Lloyd A. Macy, Katherine Myong McManus, Anna Meurer, Masi A. Sanders, Elaheh Siahkouhi, Laken Tackett, Richmond; Emily N. Adkins, Jackie S. Cates, Jared Conner Niceley, Berea; Charles R. Pegram, Patrick W. Reynolds, Joshua E. Turpin, Pilar Walker, Lexington;

Robert Christopher Allen, McCordsville, Indiana; Calvin T. Andries, Lawrenceburg; Phelan D. Bailey, Morehead; Otis W. Broderick, Carlisle; Canique Brown, West Palm Beach, Florida; Lisa A. Burton, Castine, Maine; Hannah Costelle, Louisville; Lisa Davenport, Lubbock, Texas; William Frederick Duke Derdock, Winter Garden, Florida; Matthew D. Gregory, Tampa, Florida; Mario Gutierrez, El Paso, Texas; David E. Hynd, Edmond, Oklahoma; Malcolm Don Jacobs, Amherst, New York;

Allen S. Keener, Birmingham, Alabama; Randy King, Conroe, Texas; Ronald D. McCarty, Winchester; Ronald Moore, Jackson; Jeremy T. Parsons, Stanford; Nancy Kenna Powell, Charlotte, North Carolina; Anna M. Reeves, Clay City; Tyler Swafford, Franklin, Tennessee; Eula Kathryn Swann, King William, Virginia; Tristan Thomas Syck, Harold; Trenton N. Thompson, Chatham, Illinois; Jordan Wills, Brooksville; Katherine Wyant, Mt. Sterling; Nathaniel Young, Lawrenceburg; and Jeffrey K. Zotter, Southwick, Massachusetts.

Several EKU sophomores also received academic achievement certificates for completing more than 30 hours with a grade point average of 3.7 and above.

EKU faculty were also honored through recognitions and inductions into the University’s Phi Kappa Phi chapter. Inductees and honorees included the event’s keynote speaker, Dr. Erik Liddell, EKU Honors faculty fellow and associate professor of languages, cultures and humanities, and David Afsah-Mohallatee, EKU Foundation professor and professor of art and design. 

Founded in 1897, Phi Kappa Phi is the nation’s oldest and most selective collegiate honor society for all academic disciplines. Phi Kappa Phi inducts annually approximately 30,000 students, faculty, professional staff, and alumni. The Society has chapters at more than 300 select colleges and universities in North America and the Philippines. Membership is by invitation only to the top 10 percent of seniors and graduate students and the top 7.5 percent of second-term juniors. Faculty, professional staff, and alumni who have achieved scholarly distinction also qualify. The Society’s mission is “to recognize and promote academic excellence in all fields of higher education and to engage the community of scholars in service to others.”

For more information about Phi Kappa Phi, visit