Select Page

The third annual eCAPS Awards luncheon, hosted by the EKU Office of e-Campus Learning on Dec. 5, honored EKU Online students, faculty and staff for their achievements. This year, 14 exceptional students were nominated by their instructors for the 2017 Outstanding Online Student Award.

Blanchard photoDeborah Blanchard, a College of Justice & Safety student, was the undergraduate award recipient. She works as a correctional officer and is studying corrections, juvenile justice and police studies.

“She demonstrated a devotion to learning that you don’t often see in undergraduate students,” said Dr. Betsy Matthews, coordinator of the EKU Online Corrections and Juvenile Justice program. “She was a leader in my course, providing a lot of affirmation to her peers.” (To learn more about Blanchard, see

The graduate recipient of the 2017 Outstanding Online Student Award was CaseyCasey Humphrey photo Humphrey, who earned a doctoral degree in occupational therapy. As a student, she presented her capstone research at the Kentucky Occupational Therapy Association conference and volunteered to serve as the student representative on the OTD Curriculum Committee, where she acted as a liaison between her faculty and peers. While earning her degree, she worked full time as an OT for those with brain injuries. (To learn more about Humphrey, see

"Casey is a role model for the experiences and successes that are possible through the online OTD program and well-deserving of the title of Outstanding Online Student,” wrote Program Coordinator Dr. Dana Howell in her nomination.

Dr. Mary Clements, coordinator of EKU’s nationally recognized online nursing programs, received the 2017 Essence of e-Campus Award, which is presented to individuals who demonstrate educational excellence through accountability, quality, teamwork, collaboration, kindness, and humility.

Additional faculty award recipients were:

Faculty Advocate for Student Success: Karen Gilbert, associate university librarian with EKU Libraries

Excellence in Course Design: Bill Mullen, senior lecturer in English, and Alix Heintzman, instructional designer, for War and Peace in Literature Since 1900

Excellence in Multimedia Creation: Dr. Joshua Farrington, professor of African/African American Studies for The African American Experience

Excellence in Online Teaching for Undergraduate Programs: Dr. Jennifer Fairchild, associate professor of communication

Excellence in Online Teaching for Graduate Programs: Dr. Connie Beckner Hodge, assistant professor of curriculum and instruction

Members of the EKU Online staff were also recognized for their contributions to the success of eCampus.