Select Page

Academic Common Market Waiver

Eastern Kentucky University participates in the Academic Common Market, a program allowing out-of-state students to pursue a degree at EKU at the in-state resident tuition rate due to the program not being offered in their home state.

The 16 states that participate in this exchange for particular degree programs are: Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia and West Virginia. The Academic Common Market is administered by the Southern Regional Education Board (SREB).

Please visit the Southern Regional Education Board website to determine if the degree program is one of the programs offered through the Academic Common Market program.


If the program is offered, please contact your home state coordinator listed on the website for application details. Once the paperwork is processed, the student and the EKU Scholarship Office will receive a copy of the approved results. Once the student has declared his/her major and registered for classes, the waiver will be applied to the student’s balance to lower the student tuition cost to the in-state tuition rate. The waiver will remain in effect for every fall and spring term until graduation as long as the student remains enrolled in the approved major. If the student wants to use the waiver for a summer or winter semester, they should contact the EKU Scholarship Office for processing. If the student changes his or her major, the student will lose the waiver and will be charged the appropriate out-of-state tuition rate.

Note: If a student is offered a merit scholarship through the EKU Scholarship Office and is eligible for the Academic Common Market waiver, the student will need to contact the EKU Scholarship Office in writing to indicate whether he/she wants to accept the waiver or the scholarship. The student cannot receive both the tuition waiver and the scholarship.