Select Page

The Eastern Kentucky University Chapter of Phi Kappa Phi initiated 48 juniors, seniors and graduate students at a special induction ceremony on April 15.

The new members are among approximately 30,000 students, faculty, professional staff and alumni to be initiated into Phi Kappa Phi each year.  

Faculty and staff honored were Dr. Victor Kappeler, dean of the College of Justice and Safety; Dr. Minh Nguyen, professor and associate director of EKU Honors; and Dr. Karin Sehmann, associate dean of the College of Arts and Sciences.

Joining the ranks of Distinguished Members for 2016 was Kathleen Barr, chapter public relations officer and external affairs coordinator for the College of Business and Technology. This special membership is conferred upon approval of the National Society, and the recipient receives a life membership to Phi Kappa Phi and a distinguished member certificate. Previous distinguished members include Dr. Robert B. Rogow, National Society past president and EKU College of Business and Technology dean emeritus, and Dr. Elizabeth Rehm Wachtel, chapter past president and director of the EKU Training and Resource Center.

The Chapter Fellowship Award in the amount of $500 was presented to Andrew J. Stofleth, Richmond, who earned his bachelor’s degree in public relations last December and is currently pursuing graduate studies in integrated marketing communications at West Virginia University. Students were selected through an application process that included a personal essay and letters of recommendation.  A selection committee then reviewed the entries to select the very best Fellowship applicant.  The Henry G. Martin Scholarship, also a $500 award, was also presented to Tony L. Hoskins, a senior non-traditional student from Richmond, majoring in aerospace technology and aviation professional flight. 


College of Arts & Sciences

Lindsay C. Brubaker (JR) – Lexington, Kentucky
Barbara J. Kent (SR) – Richmond, Kentucky
Rachel E. Lachut (JR) – Radcliff, Kentucky
Allie A. Maples (SR) – Mount Sterling, Kentucky
Matthew W. Moran (GR) – Lexington, Kentucky
Todd Oare (GR) – Portland, Oregon
Jeremy V. Prichard (JR) – London, Kentucky
Katherine M. Regis (JR) – Radcliff, Kentucky
Patrick C. Trigg (SR) – Richmond, Kentucky

College of Business & Technology

Jumana A. Allatifeh (SR) – Richmond, Kentucky
Daniel T. Bevins (JR) – Pikeville, Kentucky
Victoria J. Chubaruk (JR) – Nicholasville, Kentucky
Tony L. Hoskins (SR) – Richmond, Kentucky
Crystal A. Meadors (JR) – Monticello, Kentucky
Camille T. Sears (SR) – Louisville, Kentucky
Sarah E. Smith (JR) – Berea, Kentucky
Taylor B. Weiter (JR) – Louisville, Kentucky

College of Education

Mary K. Briley (SR) – Richmond, Kentucky
Christian C. Fyffe (GR) – Richmond, Kentucky
Bethany D. Grubbs (SR) – Pineville, Kentucky
Susan M. Lewis (GR) – Winchester, Kentucky
Courtney L. Martin (JR) – Stanford, Kentucky
Jaronda V. McPherson (GR) – Lexington, Kentucky
Deborah A. Meadows (GR) – Brandenburg, Kentucky
Misty D. Murray (GR) – Annville, Kentucky
Jennifer A. Tucker (GR) – Paducah, Kentucky

College of Health Sciences

Julie M. Conrad (GR) – Louisville, Kentucky
Emma M. Davis (JR) – Ashland, Kentucky
Rachel D. Godby (GR) – Ravenna, Kentucky

Krista J. Muse (SR) – Lexington, Kentucky
Keri E. Purcell (GR) – Lexington, Kentucky

Brandi Winchester (JR) – Lexington, Kentucky

College of Justice & Safety

Michael Baum (SR) – Choteau, Montana
Amy L. Blades (SR) – Pensacola, Florida
Jessica J. Fitzgerald (SR) – Blakeslee, Pennsylvania
Bradley T. Hart (GR) – Louisville, Kentucky
Caleb P. Houchens (JR) – Eighty Eight, Kentucky
Steven E. Hughes (GR) – Savannah, Georgia
Sylas A. Kern (SR) – Lexington, Kentucky
Isabella R. Onorato (JR) – Sadieville, Kentucky
Keith T. Randall (GR) – Kenai, Alaska
Harmon C. Rowland (GR) – Alexandria, Virginia
Justin S. Smith (GR) – Columbus, Ohio
Adam L. Visnic (GR) – Mason, Ohio
Nicholas E. Vossenberg (JR) – Fredericksburg, Virginia

More about Phi Kappa Phi

Founded in 1897 at the University of Maine, Phi Kappa Phi is the nation’s oldest, largest and most selective all-discipline honor society. The Society has chapters on more than 300 campuses in the United States, Puerto Rico and the Philippines. 

Membership in Phi Kappa Phi is by invitation and requires nomination and approval by a chapter. Only the top 10 percent of seniors and 7.5 percent of juniors, having at least 72 semester hours, are eligible for membership. Graduate students in the top 10 percent of the number of candidates for graduate degrees may also qualify, as do faculty, professional staff and alumni who have achieved scholarly distinction.

Since its founding, more than 1 million members have been initiated. Some of the organization’s more notable members include former President Jimmy Carter, NASA astronaut Wendy Lawrence, Baylor University head women’s basketball coach Kim Mulkey-Robertson, writer John Grisham and Netscape founder James Barksdale. The Society has awarded approximately $11.5 million in fellowships and scholarships since the inception of its awards program in 1932. Today, more than $800,000 is awarded annually to qualifying members and non-members through graduate fellowships, undergraduate study abroad scholarships, member and chapter awards and grants for local and national literacy initiatives. The Society’s mission is to “recognize and promote academic excellence in all fields of higher education and to engage the community of scholars in service to others.”

For more information on the EKU Phi Kappa Phi chapter, contact Dr. Russell Carpenter at