Select Page

Eastern Kentucky University’s Noel Studio for Academic Creativity has awarded nine faculty members with the Noel Faculty Award this year. 

Faculty members were honored during a virtual ceremony during Scholars Week in April. 

“The annual Noel Faculty Awards program recognizes outstanding faculty for accomplishments and innovations in the classroom and those that support our goals of academic excellence. As scholars, instructors, and leaders, this year’s award recipients have achieved distinction in strategic areas of priority across EKU,” said Russell Carpenter, assistant provost. “Our impressive recipients this year represent the most dedicated, passionate, creative, and inclusive faculty who significantly and meaningfully contribute to EKU’s teaching mission.”

This year’s recipients are as follows: 

High-Impact Practice Teaching Award

Heather Fox, Assistant Professor, English

Faculty Innovation in Teaching Award

Bernardo Scarambone, Professor, Music

Mary Sciaraffa, Associate Professor, Child & Family Studies

Inclusive Excellence Faculty Award

Todd McCardle, Associate Professor, Curriculum & Instruction

Sonja Yow, Assistant Professor, Curriculum & Instruction

Scholarship of Teaching & Learning (SoTL) Award 

Hung-Tao Michael Chen, Associate Professor, Psychology

Faculty Leadership Award

Marco Ciocca, Professor, Physics

Beth Polin, Associate Professor, Management

Kelly Watson, Associate Professor, Geosciences

Next year The Noel Studio for Academic Creativity will add he Dr. Jerry Pogatshnik Graduate Faculty Award, which recognizes excellence in graduate-level teaching, scholarship, and mentoring. Dr. Pogatshnik has announced his retirement from the university next month, and this award is named in his honor.