Select Page


Boyer Distinguished Service Award

Four EKU Honors students smile and hold their Boyer Distinguished Service Awards

The Jane S. Boyer Distinguished Service Award is given annually in the spring to the EKU Honors Scholar whose record of campus and community service best exemplifies the ideals of longtime honors program friend and benefactor Mrs. Jane S. Boyer (1941-2017). Mrs. Boyer was a tireless advocate for the causes of education and the arts. She served many years on the executive board of the Kentucky Opera and Louisville’s District 15 PTA. She was also a longtime member of the EKU Board of Regents and the EKU Foundation Board. She and her husband Charles Boyer’s gifts to the Honors Program in the early 1990s stand at the base of what has developed into a substantial endowment that continues to make enormous travel and scholarship opportunities available to Honors Program students. Just as the Boyer legacy continues to energize our program, the Honors Program encourages our students to cultivate a culture of service that reflects Mrs. Boyer’s generosity back toward our campus, community, state, region, nation and world.

Spring 2022 Recipients

Jared Christian
Julia Hickey
Kaitlyn VanWay
Lexy Dahl Walls

Spring 2021 Recipients

Breanna Bowling
Nick Koenig
Ashley Shofner

Spring 2020 Recipients

Peyton Brock
Jennifer Kaylyn Perkins

Spring 2019 Recipient

Calvin Andries

Spring 2018 Recipient

Rachel Lachut

Spring 2017 Recipient

Halle Graham


EKU Honors Sheltowee Award

EKU Honors Program Sheltowee Award Logo

The EKU Honors Program Sheltowee Award recognizes friends of Honors who have made significant contributions to the program. The name of the award comes from Daniel Boone’s Shawnee name “Sheltowee (Big Turtle)” and represents the spirit of those who are pathfinders for EKU Honors, much as Daniel Boone was as he traveled across the Cumberland Gap into Kentucky. Each spring, we recognize individuals with a plaque and a “Sheltowee/Big Turtle” statuette, symbolizing the thanks and admiration of the Honors Program community.

Fall 2022 Recipient

Katie Patton Assistant Director, Honors Program

Spring 2021 Recipients

Dr. Chris Neumann Assistant Professor of English
Dr. Mason Smith Senior Lecturer of English

(No Spring 2020 Recipients)

Spring 2019 Recipients

Ms. Jennifer White Director, Education Abroad
Dr. Gay Sweely Professor of Art and Design
Dr. Minh Nguyen Assistant Director, Honors Program

Spring 2018 Recipients

Ms. Tina Davis University Registrar
Dr. Chris Taylor Professor of History
Dr. Martin Brock Associate Professor of Chemistry

Spring 2017 Recipients

Professor Kathy Splinter-Watkins Associate Professor of Occupational Science/Occupational Therapy
Dr. Theresa Botts Assistant Professor of Psychology
Ms. Amanda McCracken Scholarships Coordinator

Spring 2016 Recipients

Dr. Ron Messerich Professor of Philosophy
Dr. Kevin Jones EKU Reference Librarian and Library Liaison for EKU Honors

Spring 2015 Recipients

Ms. Trenia Napier Research Coordinator, Noel Studio
Dr. Lisa Kay Associate Professor of Mathematics and Statistics
Dr. Paula Kopacz Professor of English
Dr. Helen Bennett Professor of English (presented in 2016)

Spring 2014 Recipients

Dr. Frank Williams Professor Emeritus of Philosophy
Dr. Gene Kleppinger Manager of EKU Online Learning, Instructor in Philosophy and Religion, and Instructor in EKU Honors
Mrs. Kenna Middleton Director of University Housing